h1

Dixie Cup Foraging Toy

April 6, 2010

In my last post, I talked about making wooden DIY parrot toys. But I only made one for Mika and got tired of drilling holes into the wood scraps. I rationalized that Stewie doesn’t really like wooden toys nearly as much (he has some untouched ones in his cage as we speak). But then I felt guilty πŸ™‚ So I made the foraging toy below… it took me all of 20 seconds. (Step 1: get a stack of unwaxed Dixie cups. Step 2: poke hole in Dixie cups. Step 3: thread piece of leather through the hole (tie a knot on the bottom). Step 4: Put treats inside each of the cups. Step 5: Hang the toy and get out of the way)

DIY Foraging Toys

He’s already turned it into confetti, but that’s okay… I have a huge box of those Dixie cups for just this contingency.

Updated: More foraging tips from a fellow Phoenix Landing member

4 comments

  1. Wonderful post and a great idea. I had a bunch of those cone-shaped drinking cups from a defunct water cooler dispenser and I did the same thing. The birds loved it!


  2. My sun loves paper towel rolls, so I unroll them, sprinkle food and treats on parts of it, re-roll it, and leave it on top of his cage for shredding/foraging fun.


  3. Another good one is to take a dixie cup and a pack of coffee filters and a zip tie or two. Fill the cup with a few treats, layer 2 coffee filters on top like a lid, put a treat on top of those 2, layer with about 4 coffee filters on top of that and zip tie the filters to the cup right below the rim. My Amazon looooves it! It’s a bit too easy for him to tear through, but you can layer more coffee filters if needed πŸ™‚


  4. That Dixie cup toy gave me an idea. I will add some crinkled paper into each cup along with treats and see what happens. Off to make this toy now πŸ™‚ Great post and photos.



Leave a Reply

